Board of Directors

European Movement Ireland is governed by a voluntary Board of Directors.

Dr Mary Canning is a Member of the Royal Irish Academy and of the Governing Authority of the National University of Ireland, Maynooth. She is a Board Member of the Higher Education Authority since 2007 and in 2009 was appointed by the Irish Government to the National Strategic Review of Higher Education. Until 2006, Mary worked as lead Education Specialist in the Europe and Central Asia region of the World Bank.

Donall Curtin WEBDónall Curtin is a Partner in Byrne Curtin Kelly, one of Dublin’s leading accountancy practices. He is a member of the Institute of Certified Public Accountants in Ireland and a member of the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators.  Dónall is member of the board of the Health Insurance Authority. He also serves as President of Chambers Ireland, which is the country’s largest business organisation.

Catherine Day served as Secretary-General of the European Commission from 2005 to 2015.  Prior to that, Catherine was Director-General of DG Environment in the European Commission.  Between 1996 and 2000, she worked on enlargement, preparing the accession of the countries of Central and Eastern Europe to the EU.  Catherine is a graduate of University College Dublin, with an MA in International Trade and Economic Integration.


Hon. Rory Guinness



Rickard Mills is the founder and principal of Rickard Mills Limited, a corporate affairs consultancy firm assisting a wide variety of companies in brand development and market facilitation. With over 26 years experience in financial services sector Rickard worked with KBC Bank Ireland (KBC) until 2015 as Head of Taxation and finally as Director of Corporate Affairs. He represented KBC as a director over that time on both group and non group entities. Rickard remains a pension funds trustee with KBC and is a Director of the Irish Association of Pension Funds (IAPF). He was a board member of Dublin Chamber for six years until 2017, serving as Treasurer and chairing the Influencing Committee and Membership Committee. He is a Director of Chambers Ireland and chairs the Audit, Finance & Risk committee. He is also a board member of European Movement Ireland. 

A Chartered Accountant and Taxation Consultant by profession, originally with Deloitte, he holds a degree in Civil Engineering from University College Cork along with a post graduate diploma in Executive Coaching.

Noelle O Connell MAILCHIMP
Noelle O Connell
was appointed Executive Director of European Movement Ireland in April 2011.  Prior to leading European Movement Ireland, Noelle provided business development training, education and public affairs consultancy to a wide variety of both private and public sector clients.

Paul O’Faherty is an actuary and is a non-executive director of a number of companies in the financial services and investment areas. Until 2013 he was Chief Executive of Mercer Ireland and Chairman of Marsh McLennan Companies in Ireland. He is a Fellow and a past President of the Society of Actuaries in Ireland. He is also a past Chairman of the Irish Association of Pension Funds.

Maurice Pratt (Chairperson) is former CEO of C&C Group, a former Board Member of Tourism Ireland and former Chief Executive of Tesco Ireland. He holds several company Directorships and is currently Chairman at Barretstown and a Board Member of IBEC and Business in the Community, Ireland. Maurice is also a fellow of the Marketing Institute of Ireland.

Michael Shovlin (Secretary) is currently a solicitor with Arthur Cox. Michael previously served as Special Adviser to former Tánaiste Mary Coughlan.


Rosemary Steen


Jillian van Turnhout IDP-C (Vice-Chairperson)  is an Independent Non-Executive Director. She is former Senator and was leader of the Independent Group in Seanad Éireann. She also holds the position of Chair of Early Childhood Ireland. She is former Chief Executive of the Children’s Rights Alliance, former Vice-President of the European Economic and Social Committee and co-founder of the European Youth Forum. She has completed INSEADs International Directors Programme (IDP-C).